Nicolas Richard

Associé Directeur

Nicolas Richard est un des associés à Juristconsult Chambers. Avant de rejoindre le cabinet, il a été un associé/ directeur de la branche locale d’un cabinet international d’avocats pendant 4 ans. Il a aussi travaillé comme responsable des affaires juridiques à Ireland Blyth Limited, un des plus gros conglomérats à Maurice, où il a participé dans de nombreux projets importants tels que le financement et la construction du plus grand quai de l’île, le lancement de la première compagnie aérienne privée du pays (y compris le financement et la location des avions) et diverses opérations de financement transfrontalières en utilisant des véhicules d’investissement ad hoc (special purposes vehicle) de Maurice.

Les compétences de Nicolas couvrent tous les aspects du droit des affaires et commercial et en particulier le droit bancaire et financier et le financement aéronautique et maritime. Nicolas conseille de grandes banques et des multinationales sur des structures de financement/investissement et les nantissements impliquant des véhicules d’investissement ad hoc à l’île Maurice.

Nicolas a participé dans plusieurs transactions de haut niveau y compris la première cotation d’une société mauricienne sur le NASDAQ et la location de quatre Airbus A330-200 livrés à une grande  compagnie d’aviation africaine.

Nicolas a été assermenté comme avoué en février 2005 après avoir été classé premier à l’examen organisé par le Council of Legal Education en 2003. Nicolas a été nommé comme Rising Star dans le dernier Guide IFLR 1000 des World’s Leading Financial law firms.


Contact details

T
+230 465 0020 | Ext. 229

Éducation:

  • Cours de formation professionnelle  des avoués, Council of Legal Education
  • D.E.S.S. Transports maritimes et aériens, Université d’Aix en Provence
  • Maîtrise en droit privé, Université de la Réunion
  • Licence en droit privé, Université de la Réunion

Domaines de competence:

  • Droit bancaire et financier
  • Droit des affaires et commercial
  • Droit maritime / Droit de l’aviation
  • Marchés de capitaux

Positions et Reconnaissances:

  • Nicolas a été classé premier au concours d’avoué organisé par le Mauritius Council of Legal Education en 2003.
  • Nicolas a été nommé Rising Star dans l’édition 2013 du IFLR 1000 Guide to the World’s Leading Financial law firms.

Adhésions:

  • Mauritius Law Society
  • International Bar Association
  • Mauritius Institute of Directors

Nicolas Richard

Managing Partner

Nicolas Richard is a Managing Partner at Juristconsult Chambers. Prior to joining Juristconsult Chambers, Nicolas was an associate / director of the local office of an international law firm for 4years. He also worked as Legal Affairs Manager at Ireland Blyth Limited, one of the largest conglomerate in Mauritius where he was involved in a number of important projects including the financing and construction of the island’s largest dockyard, the launch of the first private airline of the country (including financing and leasing of related aircrafts) and several cross-border financing transactions using Mauritius special purposes vehicles.

Nicolas’ practice covers all aspects of corporate and commercial law with particular focus on banking and finance, aircraft and shipping financing. Nicolas advises leading international banks and multinational companies on financing / investment structures and collaterals involving Mauritius vehicles.

He has been involved in several high profile transactions including the first ever listing of a Mauritius company on NASDAQ and the operating lease of 4 Airbus A330-200 aircraft delivered to a major African airline.

Nicolas was sworn in as an Attorney at law in February 2005 after ranking 1st at the Attorney’s examination organised by the Mauritius Council of Legal Education in 2003. He has been named as a Rising Star in the 2013 IFLR 1000 Guide to the World’s Leading Financial law firms.


Education:

  • Professional Course for Prospective Attorneys. Council of Legal Education, Mauritius
  • D.E.S.S. Transports maritimes et aériens, Université d’Aix en Provence, France
  • Maîtrise en droit privé, Université  de la Réunion, France
  • Licence en droit privé, Université  de la Réunion, France

Areas of expertise:

  • Banking and Finance
  • Corporate and Commercial
  • Aircraft & Shipping
  • Capital Markets

Positions and Recognitions:

  • Nicolas ranked 1st at the Attorney s examination organised by the Mauritius Council of Legal Education in 2003.
  • Nicolas was named as a Rising Star in the 2013 IFLR 1000 Guide to the World’s Leading Financial law firms.

Memberships:

  • Mauritius Law Society
  • International Bar Association
  • Mauritius Institute of Directors